WPC – The monk’s spare time


IMG_0386

A Monk in Angkor Wat

While taking a rest from the heat of daylight in Angkor Wat, I was watching several monks who walked near the gallery of the majestic temple. One of them was taking pose in front of the door while his friend took his picture. I believe they’re all in their spare time. But, in a minute two local Cambodians were passing by and stopped in front of the monk who stood behind the door. The old man with his grey hair talked to the monk and followed by the woman. I did not understand what they talked about, because they talked in Khmer, but whatever the discussion was about; from their smiles I assumed it was a happy one.

I was just attracted to the gesture of the monk. A moment before he was in his spare time, taking a photo for a memoir being in Angkor Wat, a must-visit place for a monk like him. But suddenly, when the common people came in front of him, he gave his time to prioritize the people. I knew from the change of his gesture, he gave respect to the people, who come to him, especially who were older than him. He always spares his time for the people.

Watching this event in front of my eyes, I remember a wise man said once,

When you really matter to someone, that person will always make time for you. No excuses, no lies, and no broken promises.

Then it becomes a retro question to myself. Do I always give time to the ones who matter to me?


In response to the Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge with the topic of Spare

Satu pemikiran pada “WPC – The monk’s spare time

Tinggalkan Balasan

